C AlbertiLa femme n'existe pas

“Woman does not exist”

In one year’s time the Great International Online Conversation of the WAP will open. It comes at a time when, everywhere, a wind has arisen. Women’s voices are emerging, breaking a silence that has come from afar. They are legitimately proclaiming their desire for equality and freedom, denouncing sexist injustices and violence against women. Psychoanalysis plays it part in this movement.

This text, on the 30th of April 2021, launched the Great International Online Conversation of the WAP.
Discover the text in its entirety below.
And listen to Christiane Alberti, director of the Great Conservation, present it.


Freudian Logic (–φ)

Women are at the origin of psychoanalysis. Listening to them, Freud made heard an unheralded voice regarding their love lives and sexual lives, at a time when they were seen only as progenitors. But he bears the mark of his time and “the tradition of a long past”. Today we would say that the Freudian conception of femininity is phallocentric. Indeed, Freud settled on the phallus as a symbol of castration in order to consider the feminine. In the unconscious, the feminine being would be irremediably marked by lack, affected by a minus sign. This point of view is rooted in the imprinting power (an infantile memory) of the imaginary comparison of the male and female bodies, which creates a belief in an absence on the female side and in the castration of the mother. From this having, it would follow that the man thinks of himself as complete, while the other sex would be marked by an irremediable incompleteness with its share of disappointment, demands, avidity, and eternal rivalry between men and women.

This is what has shocked many feminists: to find in Freud’s writing the most insufferable topos that makes of woman a deprived being, endowed with a sentiment of inferiority.

This logic, which consists in imagining that Oedipus for the girl begins from its masculine version, leads to a tortuous path towards femininity. Freud himself was aware of the limits of this approach – for women as well as for men – as he came up against the enigma of femininity, which cannot be resolved by the castration complex. Hence Lacan’s trenchant words: “To appreciate the true audacity of his step, we have only to consider his reward, which was not long in coming: the stalemate regarding the heteroclite nature of the castration complex”[i]. Wasn’t the famous refusal offemininity to be read otherwise? This will be Lacan’s way.

Occultation of the Feminine Principle
We can’t take the father anymore.

Lacan first formalised the Freudian Oedipus through the linguistic reduction of the myth, with the Name of the Father and the paternal metaphor. Through this operation of symbolisation, the Name of the Father replaces the unknown (x) of the desire of the mother and gives it a meaning. The subject is thus led to a normalised relation with desire by submitting to the symbolic Law. The effect of the metaphor is to engage the subjects to think, enjoy, and reproduce, etc., within the norms of the classically accepted ideals of their sex.

During this time of structuralism, Lévi-Strauss theorised that women are engaged as objects of exchange between fundamentally androcentric lineages. Lacan shifts away from this conception. He had no problem pointing out that there is something “unacceptable” in the position of the woman, which is due to her “position as an object”[ii] even though, on the other hand she is – as well as man – entirely submitted to the symbolic order. He sees in this “the […] conflictual character […] without remedy, of her position – the symbolic order literally subdues her, transcends her”[iii]. In this regime of “all men”[iv], of which he has no hesitation in describing as Proudhonian, the attempt to assign her to a place (wife, mother, daughter, etc.) is doomed to failure and never fails to provoke revolt. A part of the feminine does not manage to find its place in the world – it is truly impossible to situate, and this is not new!

Lacan took this part into account very early on, going against a psychoanalysis that guaranteed “peace in the home” that would reduce the woman to the mother and the man to the child. How better to say that the supremacy of the father at the foundation of our culture has an inverse side that Lacan formulated as “the occultation of the feminine principle under the masculine ideal”[v].

Semblants

This formalisation led him, in a second phase, to reduce the father not to a name but to a function, which makes a plurality of supports possible: the Names of the Father. In fact, Lacan had already diagnosed the decline of the all-powerful father in the 1930s. There is no the Father, but a swarm of signifiers (master signifiers) capable of naming the modes of jouissance of an era. This pluralisation accounts for contemporary mutations and in particular for the great diversity of sexual life: each one invents his or her own way of enjoying [de jouir] and of loving by asserting a name for the scenarios that dethrone Oedipus as the sole solution to desire.

All of this Oedipal symbolic architecture, built on images and signifiers, is nothing more than a fiction in which the character of semblance is revealed, the value and use of which Lacan has advanced. The phallus, an emblem of symbolic power that the father delivers as an ideal, is also merely a semblant with which both men and women dress, according to a virilisation or feminisation of appearance (paraître, par-être) to treat the sexual.

Lacan had thus anticipated the era of the gender fluidity that has swept away the man/woman binary. Men, women and genders of all kinds are first of all beings of language. Fatherhood, and very soon now motherhood and marriage, are becoming mere fictions. There is no reason to believe in all these signifying “mummeries”[vi] to the bitter end, says a Voltairian Lacan poking fun at the artificiality of language – all the while demonstrating their usefulness as semblants.

But there is more. The voice of women in analysis will push him to draw out all the full consequences on the structuring and the forms of desire. Lacan is led to take into account a dissonance between, on the one hand, the sexuated positions defined in the Other which lend themselves to all sorts of signifying slippages, and, on the other hand, the particular plus-de-jouir of each one, which arises from a great inertia. In other words, from the perspective of discourses there is a tension between the collectivising and idealising master-signifier S1, and a, the object of jouissance.

Subsequently Lacan will go beyond this tension between S1 and a, derivatives of the phallus, to engage on the path of a supplementary jouissance that resists sexual meaning.

Sexuation

Lacan introduced the term sexuation to indicate the subjective element of choice, dependent on what he called the formulas of sexuation. These formulas give reference points as to the possible way of accommodating oneself in sex, beyond the stereotypical designation of man/woman. Thus, in his Seminar Encore, he states this choice in terms of the “so-called man portion”[vii]or the “so-called woman portion”

The “so-called man portion” permits any subject to lodge themselves under the regime of castration, in the sense of the limit that the function of language instates. The regime of lack, therefore, is in fact situated here on the male side! The experience of the body that corresponds to it is that of a jouissance limited to the phallic organ, localised, felt as outside the body. This part therefore delimits the world of sexuality where one loves and desires the other with the help of the fantasy: one can only mentally enjoy [jouir] the body of the Other ($ ◊ a).

The “so-called woman portion” does not respond to any universal but only to a contingent relation to the phallus. It is not all caught up in the phallic dimension, because, at the root of this not-all Lacan postulates a properly feminine jouissance: an ineffable jouissance of the body, without form or reason. If we say it is “improperly” feminine, it is in the sense that it is feminine sexuality that gives the best insight into it: in imaginary terms, the Freudian dark continent or the oceanic feeling; in logical terms, the infinite or the not-all. It is indeed the image of a jouissance “enveloped in its own contiguity”[viii], which, as early as the Guiding Remarks for a Convention on Female Sexuality, indicated the relationship to the infinite. Its effects of limitlessness are found in particular in mysticism or in forms of self-abandonment, which escape the framework offered by the fantasy.

This so-called woman part is incommensurate with any ideal, because it is not inscribed in the order of values, but rather in unicity. It is a mode of jouissance that makes of each woman an exception and who, as such, cannot be collectivised. This is why there is no name that could constitute the set of “all women”. Lacan writes this lack of a name as S (Ⱥ). Being outside language, this jouissance does not allow docking to any identification; one does not recognise oneself in it, so much so that Lacan will say that it induces the feeling of being Other for oneself. That which responds to this lack in the Other is the exigency for speech of love – it is the only possible way of supplementation.

These signifying structures of the body make it possible to delineate the differentiated forms of love and desire, fetishistic or erotomaniac, according to whether they privilege the path of the object or of love as a condition of jouissance.

The decisive step taken by Lacan is to have posited that while women are confronted with this supplementary jouissance without any actual mediation, they do not have a monopoly on it. It also applies to men. What Lacan called the feminine principle can thus be generalised to men and is illuminated as the principle of a jouissance that supports itself beyond phallic meaning: it gives jouissance its most profound status.

Contemporary Aspiration to Femininity

By declaring “Woman does not exist”[ix], Lacan anticipated a question, if not the major question of the contemporary world: Yes, there are women! And how! They are everywhere. Men have not gotten over it, and neither have women. The strongest resistance, in the colours of delirium and rage from both men and women, consists in wanting to reduce this aspiration to femininity to the androcentric order. Jacques-Alain Miller sees in this aspiration one of the most profound phenomena of our civilisation: “The great fractures between the old order and the new order that we are witnessing can be deciphered, at least in part, as the male order retreating before the feminine protest.”[x] The feminine, the growing importance of which J.-A. Miller highlights, is not of the order of a new Master, because, as we have seen, as such, it escapes all mastery and all knowledge.

In wanting to “put the phallus away”, did Lacan not precede, in a sense, the neo-feminists of today who would like to free themselves from sexual meaning such as it is commonly accepted in the Other? Beyond the various transformations that neo-feminism has undergone since the 1970s, oscillating from political feminism (known as the Dominance approach) to the feminism of bodies (“pro sex”), the feminine has always insisted. Today, it appears as a fundamental issue that outclasses gender theories. By wanting to “undo gender assignment”, these theories have denied the signifier woman.

At the heart of this movement, the recent attempts seeking to reform language have come up against the functioning of speech and language. Is this effort not vain, as it is impossible to speak outside of gender and outside of the body, except to be returned to silence? The path of the letter, outside of meaning, advocated by Lacan, appears to be much more fertile, opening up a new perspective on feminisation.

As it runs out of steam in the hunt for semblants, in any case suspect of being prescribed by the Other, another trend in contemporary neo-feminism is making a lot of noise. In search of a greater ontological consistency of femininity, in an attempt to control jouissance, this trend situates the political combat in the very place of the female body. In particular, in order to better free itself from male power it militates in favour of a political lesbianism. Is the false sorority of bodies that results from this not a fictitious outcome based ultimately on the imaginary of bodies?

Lacan followed another path from that of discourse. Radically subversive of tradition, it found its source in the speech of analysts and of analysands.

The definition of femininity causes us disquiet. The being that speech gives us is meagre and elusive, which leads us to a passion for the right word that would finally enounce authentic feminine being. Isn’t it this that can push a woman to seek in analysis a ground that is less elusive? Yet Lacan will say of women: “Everything can be said, even stemming from [the] without reason.”[xi] On this path, analysis leads beyond the fictions to which the Other has assigned us, to the encounter with the contingency of the signifiers that have governed our lives.

Beyond the fantasmatic stopper that compensates for our ontological lack, analysis brings to light the experience of what Lacan calls sex as such, based on the logic of not-all. It is equipped with a network more fundamental than that of the phantasm, more stable than the values of gender, stronger than anything else, where we truly exist and in a unique way. It is the way of the symptom which, in this sense, feminises us.

That there arewomen and not The Woman does not mean that their existence precedes their essence, but that it “dispenses with the essence of femininity”[xii], according to the formula of J.-A. Miller. What can we learn about this from the experience of analysis? What can we extract from the feminine principle of today’s cures, those of women as well as those of men? We would benefit from giving Lacan’s mathemes of the masculine or feminine forms of desire, Φ (a) and Ⱥ (φ) respectively, their current value. This is what we can expect from The WAP’s  Great s International Online Conversation, which will have to risk everything since… Woman does not exist!

Christiane Alberti

Translation: Raphael Montague Reviewed by Pamela King

Download the conference argument


[i]. Lacan, J., The Subversion of the Subject and Dialectic of Desire in the Freudian Unconscious, in Écrits, The First Complete Edition in English, Transl. with notes B. Fink, New York & London: W.W. Norton & Co., 2006, p. 695.

[ii]. Lacan, J., The Seminar of Jacques Lacan Book II, The Ego in Freud’s Theory and in the Technique of Psychoanalysis, Transl. S. Tomaselli with notes by J. Forrester, New York & London: W.W. Norton & Co., 1991, p. 262.

[iii]. Ibid.

[iv]. Ibid.

[v]. Lacan J., Les complexes familiaux dans la formation de l’individu. Essai d’analyse d’une fonction en psychologie, in Autres écrits, Paris, Seuil, 2001, p. 84. Unpublished in English

[vi]. Miller J.-A., In Le Parlement de Montpellier, UFORCA Study-Days of the 21st & 22nd of May 2011. Unpublished.

[vii]. Cf. Lacan J., The Seminar of Jacques Lacan Book XX, Encore, Transl. B. Fink, New York & London: W.W. Norton & Co., 1998, p. 80.

[viii]. Lacan J., Guiding Remarks for a Convention on Female Sexuality, in Écrits, op. cit. p. 619.

[ix]. “La femme n’ex-siste pas [Woman does not ex-ist]”: Lacan J., Television […], New York & London: W.W. Norton & Co., p. 38.

[x]. Miller J.-A., Progrès en psychanalyse assez lents [Progress in psychoanalysis [is] rather slow], La Cause freudienne, Nr. 78, 2011, p. 197. Unpublished in English.

[xi]. Lacan J., L’étourdit, in Autres écrits, op. cit, p. 466.

[xii]. Miller J.-A., Liminaire, In Ornicar? No.22-23, Spring 1981, p. 1. Unpublished in English.

C AlbertiLa femme n'existe pas

« La femme n’existe pas »

Dans un an s’ouvriront les Grandes Assises virtuelles internationales de l’AMP. Elles interviennent dans un moment où, de partout, un vent s’est levé. Surgissent des voix de femmes, brisant un silence qui vient de loin. Elles clament légitimement leur désir d’égalité et de liberté, dénoncent les injustices sexistes et les violences faites aux femmes. La psychanalyse joue sa partie dans ce mouvement.

Ce texte a lancé, le 30 avril 2021, les Grandes Assises virtuelles internationales de l’AMP. Découvrez-le dans son intégralité ci-dessous.
Et écoutez Christiane Alberti, directrice de ces Grandes Assises, les présenter.

Logique freudienne (–φ)

Des femmes sont à l’origine de la psychanalyse. À leur écoute, Freud a fait entendre une parole inédite sur leur vie amoureuse et sexuelle, en un temps où l’on ne voyait en elles que des génitrices. Mais il porte la marque de son époque et « la tradition d’un long passé ». Nous dirions aujourd’hui que la conception freudienne de la féminité est phallocentrée. Freud s’est, en effet, réglé sur le phallus comme symbole de la castration pour penser la féminité. Dans l’inconscient, l’être féminin serait irrémédiablement marqué du manque, affecté du signe moins. C’est un point de vue qui s’enracine dans la puissance d’empreinte (souvenir infantile) de la comparaison imaginaire des corps mâle et femelle qui fait croire à une absence côté femme et à la castration de la mère. De cet avoir chevillé au corps, il s’ensuivrait que l’homme se pense comme complet tandis que l’autre sexe serait marqué d’une irrémédiable incomplétude, avec son lot de déception, revendication, avidité et de rivalité éternelle entre hommes et femmes.

C’est ce qui a choqué nombre de féministes, de retrouver sous la plume de Freud les topos les plus insupportables qui font de la femme un être privé, doté d’un sentiment d’infériorité.

Cette logique, qui consiste à concevoir l’œdipe pour la fille à partir de sa version masculine, débouche sur un chemin tortueux vers la féminité. Freud lui-même a pris la mesure des limites de cette approche, pour les femmes comme pour les hommes, puisqu’il a buté sur l’énigme de la féminité qui ne se laisse pas résoudre par le complexe de castration. D’où les mots tranchants de Lacan : « Pour mesurer la vraie audace [du] pas [de Freud], il suffit de considérer sa récompense, qui ne s’est pas fait attendre : l’échec sur l’hétéroclite du complexe de castration[i] ». Le fameux refus de la féminité n’était-il pas à lire autrement ? Ce sera la voie de Lacan.

Occultation du principe féminin
« Nous n’en pouvons plus du père »

Lacan a premièrement formalisé l’œdipe freudien par la réduction linguistique du mythe, avec le Nom-du-Père et la métaphore paternelle. Par cette opération de symbolisation, le Nom-du-Père se substitue à l’inconnue (x) du désir de la mère et lui donne un sens. Le sujet est ainsi conduit à un rapport normalisé au désir en se soumettant à la Loi symbolique. L’effet de la métaphore est d’engager les sujets pour penser, jouir, se reproduire…dans les normes des idéaux classiquement admis de leur sexe.

Dans ce temps du structuralisme, Lévi-Strauss théorisait que les femmes sont engagées comme objets d’échange entre les lignées fondamentalement androcentriques. Lacan se décale de cette conception. Il ne manque pas de relever qu’il y a là un « inacceptable » de la position de la femme, qui tient à sa « position d’objet [ii] » alors même qu’elle est d’autre part, tout entière soumise à l’ordre symbolique aussi bien que l’homme. Il y voit « le caractère […] conflictuel, […] sans issue, de sa position – l’ordre symbolique littéralement la soumet, la transcende[iii] ». Dans ce régime, qu’il n’hésite pas à qualifier de proudhonien du « tous les hommes [iv] », la tentative de l’assigner à une place (épouse, mère, fille…) est vouée à l’échec et ne manque jamais de susciter la révolte. Une part du féminin ne parvient pas à trouver sa place dans le monde, elle est proprement insituable, et ça ne date pas d’hier !

Lacan prendra en compte très tôt cette part, en allant à l’encontre d’une psychanalyse garante de « la paix à la maison » qui ramènerait la femme à la mère et l’homme à l’enfant. Comment mieux dire que la suprématie du père au fondement de notre culture, a un envers que Lacan a formulé comme « l’occultation du principe féminin sous l’idéal masculin[v] ».

Semblants

Cette formalisation l’a conduit, dans un second temps, à ramener le père non pas à un nom mais à une fonction, qui rend possible une pluralité de supports, des Noms-du-Père. Lacan avait en effet diagnostiqué dès les années 1930 le déclin du père-tout-puissant. Il n’y a pas Le père, mais un essaim de signifiants (signifiants-maîtres) susceptibles de nommer les modes de jouir d’une époque. Cette pluralisation rend compte des mutations contemporaines et notamment de la grande diversité de la vie sexuelle : chacun invente sa manière de jouir et d’aimer, en revendiquant un nom pour des scénarios qui détrônent l’œdipe comme solution unique du désir.

Toute cette architecture symbolique œdipienne, construite sur des images et des signifiants, n’est autre qu’une fiction où se révèle le caractère de semblant dont Lacan a avancé la valeur, l’usage. Le phallus, que le père délivre comme idéal, emblème de la puissance symbolique, n’est lui aussi qu’un semblant dont s’habille les hommes comme les femmes, au gré d’une virilisation ou féminisation du paraître (par-être) pour traiter le sexuel.

Lacan avait donc anticipé l’ère du genre fluide (gender fluid) qui a emporté le binaire homme/femme. Les hommes, les femmes, les genres en tout genre, sont d’abord des êtres de langage. La paternité, et très bientôt la maternité, le mariage, ne sont que fictions. Il n’y a pas lieu de croire jusqu’au bout à toutes ces « mômeries [vi] » signifiantes, fait entendre un Lacan voltairien, ironisant sur le factice du langage, tout en démontrant leur utilité en tant que semblants.

Mais il y a plus. La prise de parole des femmes en analyse le poussera à en tirer toutes les conséquences sur la structuration et les formes du désir. Il est conduit à prendre en compte une dissonance entre, d’une part, les positions sexuées définies dans l’Autre, qui se prêtent à tous les glissements signifiants et, d’autre part, le plus-de-jouir particulier à chacun, qui relève, lui, d’une grande inertie. En d’autres termes, une tension s’exerce entre le signifiant-maître S1, dans la perspective des discours, collectivisant, idéalisant, et a,l’objet de jouissance.

Puis Lacan ira au-delà de cette tension entre S1 et a, dérivés du phallus, pour s’engager sur la voie d’une jouissance supplémentaire qui résiste au sens sexuel.

Sexuation

Lacan introduit le terme sexuation pour indiquer l’élément subjectif de choix, tributaire de ce qu’il a appelé les formules de la sexuation. Ces dernières donnent des repères quant à la manière possible de se loger dans le sexe, au-delà des stéréotypes de la désignation homme/femme. C’est ainsi que dans son Séminaire Encore, il énonce ce choix dans les termes de « la part dite homme[vii] », « la part dite femme ».

La « part dite homme » permet à un sujet quel qu’il soit de se loger sous le régime de la castration, au sens de la limite qu’instaure la fonction langage. Le régime du manque est donc bien ici situé coté mâle ! L’expérience du corps qui lui correspond est celle d’une jouissance limitée à l’organe phallique, localisée, ressentie comme hors corps. Cette part délimite donc le monde de la sexualité où l’on aime et désire l’autre en s’aidant du fantasme : du corps de l’Autre, on ne peut jouir que mentalement ($◊a).

La« part dite femme », elle, ne répond à aucun universel mais seulement à un rapport contingent au phallus. Elle n’est pas toute prise dans la dimension phallique, car à la racine de ce pas-tout, Lacan postule une jouissance proprement féminine : une jouissance du corps, indicible, sans forme, ni raison. Si on la dit « improprement » féminine, c’est au sens où c’est la sexualité féminine qui en donne le meilleur aperçu : en termes imaginaires, le continent noir freudien ou le sentiment océanique ; en termes logiques, l’infini ou le pas-tout. C’est bien l’image d’une jouissance « enveloppée dans sa propre contiguïté[viii] » qui, dès les « Propos directifs pour un Congrès sur la sexualité féminine », indiquait le rapport à l’infini. Ses effets d’illimitation, se retrouvent notamment dans la mystique ou dans des formes d’abandon de soi, qui échappent au cadre que donne le fantasme.

Cette part dite femme est sans commune mesure avec les idéaux, car elle ne s’inscrit pas dans l’ordre des valeurs mais relève de l’unicité. C’est un mode de jouir qui fait de chaque femme une exception et qui, à ce titre, ne peut se collectiviser. C’est pourquoi aucun nom ne peut constituer l’ensemble de « toutes les femmes ». Ce manque de nom, Lacan l’écrit S(Ⱥ). D’être hors langage, cette jouissance ne donne aucune possibilité d’arrimage à une identification, on ne s’y reconnaît pas, au point que Lacan a pu dire qu’elle induit plutôt le ressenti d’être Autre pour soi-même. À ce manque dans l’Autre, répond l’exigence de la parole d’amour comme seule voie de suppléance possible.

Ces structures signifiantes du corps permettent de décliner les formes différenciées de l’amour et du désir, fétichiste ou érotomaniaque, selon qu’elles privilégient la voie de l’objet ou de l’amour comme condition de la jouissance.

Le pas décisif accompli par Lacan est d’avoir posé que si les femmes sont sans véritable médiation, en bute à cette jouissance supplémentaire, elles n’en ont pas pour autant le monopole. Elle vaut aussi pour les hommes. Ce que Lacan nommait principe féminin peut donc se généraliser aux hommes et s’éclaire comme le principe d’une jouissance qui se supporte au-delà du sens phallique : il donne son statut le plus profond à la jouissance.

Aspiration contemporaine à la féminité

En déclarant « La femme n’existe pas [ix] », Lacan anticipait une question sinon la question majeure du monde contemporain : il y a les femmes, oui, et comment ! Elles sont partout. Les hommes n’en sont pas revenus, et les femmes non plus. Les résistances les plus fortes, aux couleurs de délire et de rage, celles des hommes comme celles des femmes, consistent à vouloir ramener cette aspiration à la féminité à l’ordre androcentrique. Jacques-Alain Miller voit dans cette aspiration un des phénomènes le plus profond de notre civilisation : « Les grandes fractures entre l’ordre ancien et l’ordre nouveau auxquelles nous assistons, se déchiffrent quand même, du moins pour une part, comme l’ordre viril reculant devant la protestation féminine.[x] » Le féminin, dont J.-A Miller signale l’importance croissante, n’est pas de l’ordre d’un nouveau maître, car, nous l’avons vu, comme tel, il échappe à toute maîtrise, tout savoir.

À vouloir « mettre le phallus au rencart », Lacan n’avait-il pas précédé, en un sens, les néo-féministes d’aujourd’hui qui voudraient s’affranchir du sens sexuel tel qu’il est communément admis dans l’Autre ? Par-delà, les différentes transformations que le néo-féminisme a connu depuis les années 1970, oscillant du féminisme politique (dit de domination) au féminisme des corps (« pro sex »), le féminin a toujours insisté. Il apparaît aujourd’hui comme une question de fond qui surclasse les théories du genre. En voulant « défaire l’assignation de genre », ces dernières ont nié le signifiant femme.

Au cœur de ce mouvement, les tentatives récentes qui cherchent à réformer la langue, s’affrontent au fonctionnement de la parole et du langage. Cet effort n’est-il pas vain, tant il est impossible de parler hors genre et hors corps, sauf à être reconduit au silence ? La voie de la lettre, hors sens, préconisée par Lacan, apparaît autrement plus fertile, elle qui ouvre une nouvelle perspective sur la féminisation.

À s’essouffler dans la chasse aux semblants, toujours suspects d’être prescrits par l’Autre, une autre tendance du néo-féminisme contemporain fait grand bruit. À la recherche d’une plus grande consistance ontologique de la féminité, elle situe le combat politique au lieu même du corps féminin, dans une tentative de contrôle de la jouissance. Elle milite notamment en faveur d’un lesbianisme politique afin de mieux s’affranchir du pouvoir masculin. La fausse sororité de corps qui en découle n’est-elle pas une issue fictive basée en définitive sur l’imaginaire des corps ?

Lacan a frayé une autre voie que celle du discours. Radicalement subversive de la tradition, elle a trouvé sa source dans la parole des analysantes et des analysants.

La définition de la féminité ne nous laisse pas tranquille. L’être que la parole nous décerne est peu consistant, insaisissable, ce qui nous entraine dans une passion du mot juste qui dirait enfin l’être féminin authentique. N’est-ce pas ce qui peut pousser une femme à chercher dans l’analyse un sol qui se dérobe moins ? Or, comme le dit Lacan, des femmes « tout p[eut] s’en dire, même à provenir du sans raison[xi] ». Sur cette voie, l’analyse conduit au-delà des fictions auxquelles l’Autre nous aurait assignés, à la rencontre de la contingence des signifiants qui gouvernaient notre vie. 

Au-delà du bouchon fantasmatique qui compensait notre manque ontologique, l’analyse met au jour l’expérience de ce que Lacan nomme le sexe comme tel, à partir de la logique du pas-tout. Elles’appareille d’un réseau plus fondamental que celui du fantasme, plus stable que les valeurs du genre, plus fort que tout, là où on existe vraiment et d’une manière unique. C’est la voie du symptôme qui, en ce sens, nous féminise.

Qu’il y ait des femmes et non pas La femme, ne signifie pas que leur existence précède leur essence, mais qu’elle « se passe de l’essence de la féminité[xii] » selon la formule de J.-A. Miller. Que peut-on apprendre à ce sujet de l’expérience de l’analyse ? Que peut-on extraire du principe féminin des cures d’aujourd’hui, celles des femmes comme celles des hommes ? On gagnerait à donner aux mathèmes de Lacan des formes masculines ou féminines du désir, respectivement Φ(a) et Ⱥ(φ), leur valeur actuelle. C’est ce que l’on peut attendre des Grandes Assises Virtuelles internationales de l’Association mondiale de psychanalyse qui devront tout oser, puisque… La femme n’existe pas !

Christiane Alberti

Télécharger l’argument


[i]. Lacan J., « Subversion du sujet et dialectique du désir dans l’inconscient freudien », Écrits, Paris, Seuil, 1966, p. 821.

[ii]. Lacan J., Le Séminaire, livre II, Le Moi dans la théorie de Freud et dans la technique de la psychanalyse, texte établi par J.-A. Miller, Paris, Seuil, 1978, p. 305.

[iii]. Ibid., p. 304.

[iv]. Ibid.

[v]. Lacan J., « Les complexes familiaux dans la formation de l’individu. Essai d’analyse d’une fonction en psychologie », Autres écrits, Paris, Seuil, 2001, p. 84.

[vi]. Miller J.-A., in « Le Parlement de Montpellier », journées UFORCA des 21 & 22 mai 2011, inédit.

[vii]. Lacan J., Le Séminaire, livre XX, Encore, texte établi par J.-A. Miller, Paris, Seuil, 1975, p. 74.

[viii]. Lacan J., « Propos directifs pour un Congrès sur la sexualité féminine », Écrits, op. cit., p. 735.

[ix]. « La femme n’ex-siste pas » (Lacan J., « Télévision », Autres écrits, op. cit., p. 537).

[x]. Miller J.-A., « Progrès en psychanalyse assez lents », La Cause freudienne, n78, 2011, p. 197.

[xi]. Lacan J., « L’étourdit », Autres écrits, op. cit., p. 466.

[xii]. Miller J.-A., « Liminaire », Ornicar?, n22-23, printemps 1981, p. 1.