The Social Instance of the Woman

The Woman does not exist” Lacan professes, but women exist, that is why one can say they are countable and not innumerable. They have less to do with the homogeneous crowd than with the singular ex-sistence of each one. But, if one supposes a universal of The Woman, would the symbolic function of language not fall back upon a purely signifying binarism and a reduction to an imaginary idealisation of the man and the woman, each with its capital letter? Is it not, strictly speaking, a path that would lead to a form of racism, due to the separating power of the difference between male and female bodies in the animal kingdom? In an attempt to erase this reduction, some, such as Judith Butler have introduced the notion of “gender identity” by which sex is apparently transcended and chosen. In this elaboration, sex is conceived as being an object of an a posteriori appropriation, “a gendered metaphor”. Thus, there would be between sexed beings, contrary to the hazardous laws of nature, an infinite declension of possibilities left to the choice of each. The latter, by virtue of a logic of contiguity, would secure each difference which from then on becomes identity. Thus, what could have been experienced, until then, by some transsexuals as a “mistake of nature” is refuted, since there is no longer, in terms of sex, anything of nature at all. For this same reason whoever is not trans is classified cis: sex in this case does not make, it no longer makes, a hole in the symbolic and tends to produce the sexual relation, of which there is not. In fact, a social transformation of mores is on the move. This movement of resignification of the world arose against the backdrop of the “rising to the social zenith of the object […] a[1]” and the fall of ideals and began in “Californian gay and lesbian circles”.

We are thus led to question this movement, in its metonymic, unlimited, dimension, starting from feminine jouissance.

With Lacan, sexual difference is reduced neither to anatomy nor to legal construction, it is a matter of the mode of jouissance that exceeds them because of the subject of the unconscious, of the parlêtre. Hysteria demonstrates a certain relation to the phallus and man is not excluded from the feminine We will not speak here of feminisation in psychosis, which is of another order. Thus, Lacan characterises feminine jouissance as being not outside the phallus but exceeding it, as supplementary. It is supplementary because a woman does not inscribe herself entirely, she is not all, in the phallic norm and because of this fact modifies the phallic measure.  Is this not what Lacan says, as if in passing? – that woman enjoys a greater relation to freedom: “If I had to locate the idea of freedom somewhere, it would obviously be in a woman that I would embody it”. Is this not what brings her closer to the act? – “more at ease in the place of the unconscious”, that in which the position of the analyst is on the feminine side, the act being freed up therein. Lacan could say as well that women are the best psychoanalysts and also the worst. One can easily guess why: they are so on the one hand whenever they ‘play’ the man or the law; and on the other hand, when the freedom which has not yet passed through castration reinforces its mastery, since they do it even more, in body [plus encore, en corps].

As early as the sixties, Lacan had interrogated, by way of feminine sexuality, the question of surpassing the limits, particularly the limits of the intimate, to the extent that this marks society: “Lastly, why does the social instance of woman remain transcendent to the contractual order propagated by labor? And in particular is the status of marriage maintained by its effect, despite the decline of paternalism?”[2] From the outset, Lacan does not invoke the retreat of a nostalgic regression but a surpassing. The word to remember here, the pivot of the sentence, is undoubtedly the reference to transcendence, which already implies a beyond of self [un au-delà de soi]. Is it not this transcendence that has led from the so-called marriage of reason to the marriage of love right up to the marriage for all, beyond its traditionally heterosexual conception?

In this text, Lacan does not yet have the formulae of sexuation that will allow him to identify, in Seminar XX in particular, feminine jouissance. It is by way of a journey through homosexuality – understood in a broad sense, where sexual practice is contingent – that he seeks and traces the path of this jouissance. So, he begins by examining and differentiating male homosexuality from female homosexuality, based on the difference in their modes of jouissance. In relation to male homosexuality, Lacan takes the example of Catharism, a heretical movement that developed in France in the Middle Ages. Community life was governed by so-called pure laws which, in order to avoid procreation, required their members to go about in same-sex pairs (based on the principle of master/disciple), hence the homosexual coloration of their bonds. Lacan detects in these ascetic behaviours, circumscribed, prescribed and defined, the putting into play of “a kind of entropy exerting itself towards the community degradation”.[3]

On the side of feminine homosexuality, what is illustrated, according to Lacan, by the movement of the Précieuses, is feminine jouissance as infinitised, that which is “non-localisable” and which presents itself “according to an erotomaniac mode”. Feminine jouissance has, beyond the screen of fantasy, a relation to A, thus directly to the barred A. That freedom of which Lacan speaks is attached to it and grants it affinity to the sinthome. From then on, this jouissance goes further than its properly sexualised, or simply sublimated, dimension; it touches the whole of society where its function is manifested in act, a function which Lacan “has generalized to the point of making it the regime of jouissance […] as such”.[4] All those who, exceeding the limits, touch upon language, upon civilization, and modify them are not therefore without being marked by femininity. We can see – Lacan points this out in this chapter – that this feminine jouissance goes in a direction opposite to that of community entropy, as “the movement of the Précieuses”[5]demonstrates. This movement, the party of a few aristocratic women who also wanted to improve mores, established rules, but rules of discourse, those of a new discourse on love. A love purified, idealised, elaborated in language. Thus was it expressed, in the rooms of these ladies or in the intimacy of the alleyways, through those poetic metaphors, invented and reinvented unceasingly, where beauty served tenderness and distanced the trivial, the common. Each one makes herself heard without aiming at the all. On the contrary, it is a fireworks display of singular finds. The phallus that centres jouissance on the object is indefinitely pushed back to the horizon in favour of language modifications. “They are not likely to take the phallus for a signifier” that they defy or replace: “O fie, fie, fie! O fie, phi, signi-Φ !” it is “the Ecce homo”.[6] “It is only by breaking up the signifier at the level of its letter that one gets to the bottom of it with its final term.”[7] But they don’t see this jouissance, that’s what puts an end to this very personalised movement that constitutes neither a school nor an institution, even if a very large number of their expressions have infiltrated the language, have enriched it and still persist. Their extremely colourful formulae, detaching the letter from the imaginary, have merged into our daily speech, the word escapes me [le mot me manque], to have wit [avoir de l’esprit], or when one is surprised, les bras m’en tombent[8]. They have also contributed to the simplification of spelling. Finally, the first modern novel, The Princess of Cleves with its value of introspection, the theme of love, written by Madame de La Fayette, plunges its roots into préciosité.

The transcendance of which Lacan speaks finds its place in this gap, in this refusal of arrangements, conventions, semblants, in this reference to something Other. This is to say that women do not confuse the father and the Other to which they aspire according to the fantasy of the hysteric. The latter distinguishes herself from the woman through inscribing on the horizon the signifier that  nevertheless falls short in saying it, signifier of The Woman who thenceforth becomes a myth, a myth to come. But a myth has no temporality. A myth then, which is jouissance of an Other order, starting from which the world is susceptible to be remodelled. A jouissance this time “not interdicting” with its part not “taken up in the interdiction/recuperation system”.[9]

Jacques-Alain Miller indicates this: “It is situated in relation to something other than the limit of the masculine universal that the function of the father is”. A question then emerges: what is the involvement of the status of belief in this regime of jouissance? This beyond of feminine jouissance, although it is a matter of singularity, does not fall into cynicism or epicureanism, but contributes to maintain a function of creative value, no less civilising [civilisatrice] without prejudging its positive or negative value. This jouissance, even if she cannot say anything about it, a woman experiences it, she lives it and therefore she believes in it, she testifies to it; on occasion, this gives her a certain pragmatism, a being there [être là]. The Lacanian equivocation makes itself heard: “all woman are mad” but “not all, that’s to say, not all mad”.[10]

The philosophy of “gender identity” initiated by Judith Butler does not contradict this definition. Although it deals with the body, with individual feeling, it goes beyond, in its civilizational aim, as soon as it penetrates the language that it wants to be inclusive. But it postulates that alleach of the existing lives should be included in a systematic exhaustion where, desubjectivised, it is fragmented. This infinitised progression goes against the desired aim and brings it back to the discourse of the master, “to the inflexible sociologism”, tending towards the worst and not beyond the father, the dimension that it works to destroy by designating patriarchy. Therefore, this movement remains “completely blind […] to what is involved in feminine jouissance[11]” starting from which it nevertheless began in the name of a love and of a desire for universal recognition in a madness of the All.

Translation by Joanne Conway and Samya Seth


[1] Lacan J., Radiophonie, Scilicet 2/3, Paris. Seuil, 1970, pp. 55.99. First published as « Radiophonie », Autres écrits, Paris, Seuil, 2001, p. 414. 

[2] Lacan J., Guiding remarks for a Convention on female sexuality, ÉcritsThe First Complete Edition in English, tr. B. Fink, Norton & Co., 2006, p. 620.

[3] Ibid

[4] Miller J.-A., « La jouissance féminine n’est-elle pas la jouissance comme telle ? », Quarto, n°122, juillet 2019, p. 11.

[5] Lacan J., Guiding remarks for a Convention on female sexuality, op. cit., p. 620.

[6] Lacan J., The Seminar, book XIX, … or Worse. Tr. A.R. Price, Polity Press, 2018, p. 9.

[7] Ibid.

[8] [TN]: To be so astounded as to have one’s arms fall off, i.e. to be momentarily unable to act.

[9] Miller J.-A., « Progrès en psychanalyse assez lents », La Cause freudienne, n°78, June, 2011, p. 205.

[10] Lacan J., Television. A Challenge to the Psychoanalytic Establishment, ed. Joan Copjec, Norton, 1990, p. 40 (translation modified). 

[11] Lacan J., The Seminar, book XIX, or Worse,  op. cit., p. 17.

L’instance sociale de la femme

« La femme n’existe pas », professe Lacan, mais les femmes existent, c’est en quoi on peut les dires dénombrables et non innombrables. Elles ne relèvent pas de la foule homogène mais de l’ex-sistence singulière de chacune. Mais, si on supposait un universel de La femme, la fonction symbolique du langage ne serait-elle pas rabattue sur un binarisme purement signifiant et une réduction à une idéalisation imaginaire de l’homme et de la femme, chacun pourvu de sa majuscule. N’est-ce pas à proprement parler une voie qui conduirait à une forme de racisme, due au pouvoir séparateur de la différence des corps mâles et femelles propres au règne animal ? Pour tenter d’effacer cette réduction, d’aucuns comme Judith Butler ont introduit la notion « d’identité de genre » par laquelle le sexe est, semble-t-il, transcendé et choisi. Dans cette élaboration, le sexe est conçu comme faisant l’objet d’une appropriation a posteriori, « une métaphore genrée ». Il y aurait entre les êtres sexués, contrairement aux lois hasardeuses de la nature, une déclinaison infinie de possibles laissée au choix de chacun. Celle-ci, en vertu d’une logique de contiguïté, gagne chaque différence qui devient dès lors identitaire. Ainsi, ce qui pouvait être vécu, jusque-là, par certains transsexuels comme une « erreur de la nature » est réfuté, puisqu’il n’y a plus, en matière de sexe, de nature du tout. Pour cette même raison Qui n’est pas trans est classé cis, le sexe dans ce cas ne fait pas, ne fait plus trou dans le symbolique, et tend à produire le rapport sexuel, qu’il n’y a pas. De fait, une transformation sociale des mœurs est en mouvement. Ce mouvement de resignification du monde a surgi sur fond de « montée au zénith de l’objet […] a »[1] et déclin des idéaux, et a débuté dans les milieux homosexuels, lesbiens californiens. 

Nous sommes ainsi conduits à interroger ce mouvement, dans sa dimension métonymique, illimitée, à partir de la jouissance féminine.

Avec Lacan, la différence des sexes ne se réduit ni à l’anatomie ni à la construction légale, elle relève du mode de jouissance qui les dépasse du fait du sujet de l’inconscient, du parlêtre. L’hystérie démontre un certain rapport au phallus et l’homme n’est pas exclu du féminin. Nous ne parlerons pas ici de la féminisation dans la psychose qui est d’un autre ordre. Ainsi, Lacan distingue la jouissance féminine non comme hors phallus, mais comme excédante à celui-ci, supplémentaire. Elle est supplémentaire du fait qu’une femme ne s’inscrit pas toute, pas toute dans la norme phallique et de ce fait en modifie la mesure. N’est-ce pas ce que Lacan dit, comme en passant, que la femme jouit d’un plus grand rapport à la liberté : « Si je devais localiser quelque part l’idée de la liberté ce serait évidemment dans une femme que je l’incarnerais. » N’est-ce pas ce qui dès lors la rapproche de l’acte, « plus à l’aise à l’endroit de l’inconscient », ce en quoi la position de l’analyste est du côté féminin, l’acte s’en trouvant libéré. Aussi Lacan a pu dire que les femmes sont les meilleures psychanalystes et aussi les pires. On le devine aisément : elles le sont d’une part, pour peu qu’elles fassent l’homme ou la loi, et d’autre part quand la liberté non encore passée par la castration en renforce la maîtrise, car ce qu’elles font elles le font plus encore, en corps.

Dès les années soixante, Lacan avait interrogé, au travers de la sexualité féminine, la question du dépassement les limites, particulièrement celles de l’intime au point d’en marquer la société : « Pourquoi enfin l’instance sociale de la femme reste-elle transcendante à l’ordre du contrat que propage le travail ? Et notamment est-ce par son effet que se maintient le statut du mariage dans le déclin du paternalisme ? »[2] Lacan n’invoque pas là le recul d’une régression nostalgique, mais un dépassement. Le mot à retenir ici, le pivot de la phrase, est sans nul doute celui de la transcendance, qui implique déjà un au-delà de soi. N’est-ce pas cette transcendance qui a conduit du mariage dit de raison au mariage d’amour jusqu’au mariage pour tous, au-delà de sa conception traditionnellement hétérosexuelle ?

Dans ce texte, Lacan ne dispose pas encore des formules de la sexuation qui lui permettront d’identifier, dans le Séminaire XX notamment, la jouissance féminine. C’est par un cheminement à travers l’homosexualité – entendue en un sens large où la pratique sexuelle est contingente –, qu’il cherche et trace la voie de cette jouissance. Aussi commence-t-il par examiner et différencier l’homosexualité masculine de l’homosexualité féminine à partir de la différence de leurs modes de jouir. Lacan prend à propos de l’homosexualité masculine l’exemple du catharisme, mouvement hérétique qui s’est développé en France au Moyen Âge. La vie communautaire y était régie par des lois dites pures qui, pour éviter la procréation, imposaient à leurs membres d’aller par deux, et du même sexe (en principe maître/disciple) d’où la coloration homosexuelle de leurs liens. Lacan décèle dans ces conduites ascétiques, circonscrites, prescrites et définies, la mise en jeu d’« une sorte d’entropie s’exerçant vers la dégradation communautaire »[3].

Du côté de l’homosexualité féminine, ce qu’illustre, selon Lacan, le mouvement des précieuses, c’est la jouissance féminine en tant qu’infinitisée, celle « non localisable » qui se présente « selon un mode érotomaniaque ». Elle a, au-delà de l’écran du fantasme, rapport à A, donc directement à Ⱥ. Cette liberté dont parle Lacan, s’y rattache et la rend affine au sinthome. Dès lors, cette jouissance va plus loin que sa dimension proprement sexualisée ou simplement sublimée, elle touche à la société tout entière où se manifeste en acte sa fonction que Lacan « a généralisée jusqu’à en faire le régime de la jouissance […] comme telle »[4]. Tous ceux qui, dépassant les limites, touchent à la langue, à la civilisation et les modifient ne sont donc pas sans être empreints de féminité. On y aperçoit – Lacan le souligne dans ce chapitre – que cette jouissance féminine va en sens contraire de l’entropie communautaire comme « le mouvement […] des Précieuses »[5] le démontre. Ce mouvement, parti de quelques femmes aristocrates voulant elles aussi améliorer les mœurs, a établi des règles, mais des règles de discours, celles d’un discours nouveau sur l’amour. Un amour épuré, idéalisé, élaboré dans la langue. Ainsi s’exprimait-on dans les chambres de ces dames, ou dans l’intimité des ruelles par des métaphores poétiques, inventées et réinventées sans cesse, là où la beauté servait la tendresse et éloignait le trivial, le commun. Chacune s’y fait entendre sans viser le tous. Il s’agit bien au contraire d’un feu d’artifice de trouvailles singulières. Le phallus qui centre la jouissance sur l’objet est indéfiniment repoussé à l’horizon au profit de modifications de la langue. « Elles ne risquent pas de prendre le phallus pour un signifiant » qu’elles défient, remplacent, « Fi-donc ! φ-donc ! Signi-φ donc ! » c’est « l’excès homo »[6]. « Ce n’est qu’à briser le signifiant dans sa lettre qu’on en vient à bout au dernier terme »[7]. Mais cette jouissance elles ne la voient pas, c’est ce qui met un terme à ce mouvement très personnalisé qui ne fait pas école, ni institution même si un très grand nombre d’expressions ont infiltré la langue, l’ont enrichie et persistent toujours. Leurs formules extrêmement imagées, détachant la lettre de l’imaginaire se sont fondues dans notre parler quotidien, « le mot me manque », « avoir de l’esprit » ou bien quand on est surpris, « les bras m’en tombent ». De même, elles ont contribué à la simplification de l’orthographe. Enfin, le premier roman moderne, La Princesse de Clèves avec sa valeur d’introspection, le thème de l’amour, écrit par Mme de La Fayette, plonge ses racines dans la préciosité.

La transcendance dont parle Lacan trouve sa place dans cet écart, dans ce refus des arrangements, des conventions, des semblants, dans cette référence à Autre chose. C’est dire que les femmes ne confondent pas le père et l’Autre auquel elles aspirent selon le fantasme de l’hystérique. Celle-ci se distingue de la femme tout en inscrivant à l’horizon le signifiant qui pourtant manque à la dire, signifiant de La femme qui devient dès lors un mythe, un mythe à venir. Mais un mythe n’a pas de temporalité. Un mythe donc, qui est jouissance d’un Autre ordre à partir de laquelle le monde est susceptible d’être remodelé. Une jouissance cette fois « non interdictrice », avec sa part non « prise dans le système interdiction/récupération »[8].

Jacques-Alain Miller l’indique : « Elle se situe par rapport à autre chose que la limite de l’universel masculin qu’est la fonction du père. » Une question émerge dès lors : qu’en est-il dans ce régime de jouissance du statut de la croyance ? Cet au-delà de la jouissance féminine, bien qu’il relève de la singularité, ne choit ni dans le cynisme, ni dans l’épicurisme, mais contribue à maintenir une fonction à valeur créative, pas moins civilisatrice sans préjuger de sa valeur positive ou négative. Cette jouissance, même si elle ne peut rien en dire, une femme l’éprouve, elle la vit et donc elle y croit, elle en témoigne ; à l’occasion, celle-ci lui confère un certain pragmatisme, un être là. L’équivoque lacanienne se fait entendre : « toutes les femmes sont folles » mais « pas toutes, c’est-à-dire pas folles-du-tout »[9]. 

La philosophie de « l’identité de genre » initiée par J. Butler ne contrevient pas à cette définition. Bien qu’elle traite du corps, du ressenti individuel, elle va au-delà, dans sa visée civilisationnelle dès lors qu’elle pénètre la langue qu’elle veut inclusive. Mais comme elle postule que toutchacune des vies existantes devrait être incluse dans une exhaustion systématique où, désubjectivée, elle se morcelle. Cette progression infinitisée va à l’encontre de la visée souhaitée et la ramène au discours du maître, « au sociologisme inflexible », tendanciellement vers le pire et non pas au-delà du père, dimension qu’elle s’emploie à détruire en désignant le patriarcat. Aussi, ce mouvement demeure-t-il « dans l’aveuglement total sur ce qu’il en est de la jouissance féminine »[10] à partir de laquelle il a pourtant démarré au nom d’un amour et d’un désir de reconnaissance universel dans une folie du Tout.


[1] Lacan J., « Radiophonie », Autres écrits, Paris, Seuil, 2001, p. 414.

[2] Lacan J., « Propos directifs pour un Congrès sur la sexualité féminine », Écrits, Paris, Seuil, 1966, p. 736.

[3] Ibid.

[4] Miller J.-A., « La jouissance féminine n’est-elle pas la jouissance comme telle ? », Quarto, n°122, juillet 2019, p. 11.

[5] Lacan J., « Propos directifs… », op. cit., p. 736.

[6] Lacan J., Le Séminaire, livre XIX, … ou pire, texte établi par J.-A. Miller, Paris, Seuil, 2011, p. 17.

[7] Ibid.

[8] Miller J.-A., « Progrès en psychanalyse assez lents », La Cause freudienne, n°78, juin 2011, p. 205, disponible sur le site de Cairn.

[9] Lacan J., « Télévision », Autres écritsop. cit., p. 540.

[10] Lacan J., Le Séminaire, livre XIX, … ou pireop. cit., p. 17.